April 25 (same day every year)

understand April 25 was chosen for World Penguin Day because it’s the
day Adelie penguins in the Antarctic begin their annual northward
synchronized fashion, the Adelies dive into the frigid waters answering
their nature’s call to migrate. They will swim north for only a few
hundred miles and stay among icebergs that are floating about, feasting
on krill and other penguin delicacies.
They’ll bob around in the ocean and rest on the ice until it’s time to head back home to Antarctica.
do this migration because the days in Antarctica are becoming darker
during this time of year. Adelies do not see too well in the dark so
they migrate north so they can hunt for food, otherwise they would


17 types of penguins

  1. Adelie Penguins
  2. African Penguins
  3. Chinstrap Penguins
  4. Emperor Penguin
  5. Erect-crested Penguins
  6. Fiordland Crested Penguions
  7. Galapagos Penguins
  8. Gentoo Penguins
  9. Humboldt Penguins
  10. King Penguins
  11. Little Blue Penguins
  12. Macaroni Penguins
  13. Magellanic Penguins
  14. Rockhopper Penguins
  15. Royal Penguins
  16. Snares Island Penguins
  17. Yellow-eyed Penguins
world penguin day
Click here for more information about World Penguin Day